ARC: Sweet Revenge (Cookbook)

Tags

, , , ,

Cover Image for Sweet Revenge

When I tell you I laughed out loud reading this cookbook…I’m not joking. You’ll find enough jokes, witty comments and awesome colorful pictures in this book to last a couple break-ups and make-ups. The background of the book is written by a bad ass tattoo artist that’s baked sweets to get over her failed romances and is sharing her best desserts with you. The book reads like the strong friend who helps kick you out of your sad slumber and forces you to do something you love like…eat sweet desserts without shame. What are friends for, right? The recipes themselves looked to be very well thought out and sweet things I’d never had or tried before…so that’s interesting. You won’t find these recipes or even their likeness in other books. It has a little something for everyone’s tastes and is an interesting, colorful, funny cookbook to keep you entertained while baking.

Specs:

Publisher Capstone
Genre Young Adult
Released on Jan 01 2018
ISBN 9781630790899

Click here to PRE-ORDER

Advertisements

ARC: The Company of Demons (For Review)

Tags

, , , ,

Got a new ARC from Greenleaf Book Group Press to review before publication! This story seems to be one I will enjoy. Who doesn’t like a murder mystery?

 

Cover Image for The Company of Demons

Synopsis:

Troubled lawyer John Coleman is stunned when a friend is brutally murdered. The killing shocks Cleveland, because the gruesome technique matches that of the Torso Murderer, who eluded even the legendary Eliot Ness and tallied at least twelve victims before vanishing years earlier.

The victim’s beautiful daughter, Jennifer, hires John to handle the estate. They soon begin a passionate affair, putting John’s relationship with his wife and teenage daughter in jeopardy. But when John decides it’s time to end things, Jennifer has other ideas. He soon finds himself caught up in a tangled mess and smack-dab in the middle of yet another mysterious murder—this time of Jennifer’s brother.

Implicated for a crime he did not commit, John’s darkest secret is revealed to the world when he struggles to prove his innocence in court. Just when things could not get worse, the Torso Murderer emerges to stalk John, his friends, and his family. When his precious daughter is abducted, John must confront his inner demons once and for all and come face to face with the killer himself.

Specs: Paperback, Expected publication date: January 16th 2018 by Greenleaf Book Group Press

Check out this author at http://www.michaeljordanbooks.com

 

Book Giveaway: Breaking Mobius (Contemporary Romantic Suspense)

Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Breaking Mobius by T.R. Horne

Breaking Mobius

by T.R. Horne

Giveaway ends December 18, 2017.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

 

ENTER TO WIN 1 OF 10 SIGNED COPIES OF AWARD WINNING ROMANCE NOVEL!

 

Synopsis:

ONE GOOD DECISION…
Leaving behind an abusive father and emotionally scarred mother, Mali Struthers catches a bus to freedom. Atlanta University is the perfect place to discover her inner strength and special talents that lead her to a future she never imagined outside her father’s walls. Still learning to love herself, Mali must push past her own doubts to realize she deserves everything she’s worked for, even the love of a man seemingly out of reach.
…CAN CREATE A BAD DECISION
As a star football player, Justice Bradford juggles his high profile relationship and aggressive groupies but with his best friend’s constant lure of temptation, he struggles to remain focused. He has the world at his fingertips until his plans are shattered by deception. Fighting depression, he’s re-routed on a dangerous path of self-destruction until, by chance, he finds a light in the darkness that makes him second guess his vow. When Justice is faced with his new reality, will he get his life back on track before he loses it all?
…AND INCITE REVENGE.
One of the hottest video models on the scene, Nicole Bunn is the epitome of a strong, focused business woman. Concentrating only on her money and the men that can supply her expensive lifestyle, Nicole runs from her own hurts scared to love anyone other than herself. Tired of waiting to marry into fortune, Nicole turns a chance meeting into a whirlwind of sex, lies and obsession that is bound to threaten her livelihood. Through a trail of lies and addiction, Nicole sees her love of money fracture so many lives, including her own. When Nicole is forced to choose between her love of money or a chance at true love, what will she decide?

Specs: Paperback, 318 pages, Published November 8th 2013 by Yoshima Books

Check out the author on http://www.trhorne.com

 

Book Giveaway: Bottomless (Poetry)

Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Bottomless by T.R. Horne

Bottomless

by T.R. Horne

Giveaway ends November 30, 2017.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

ENTER TO WIN 1 OF 10 SIGNED COPIES OF BOTTOMLESS BY T.R. HORNE!

Synopsis:

Bottomless explores the dating scene from the eyes of young, highly sexual woman that confuses lust and love on her quest to find herself. Written in short verse and full of character voice, Bottomless will show you how love (or was it lust?) can be a ticking time bomb prepared to explode.

Specs: Paperback, 108 pages, Published May 6th 2016 by Yoshima Books

Check out the author at http://www.trhorne.com

 

New Book Review: The Handmaid’s Tale

Tags

, ,

38447

Rated 3 of 5 stars

Synopsis:

Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now…

Review:

Margaret Atwood has a distinct writing style and always pushes the limit of what could be if we let ourselves be less vigilant for freedom. She toys with the idea of what life is like in a society where women are reduced to only being a vessel for babies. The depravity in the world she creates is so breathtaking! I found myself thinking, “this could never happen” but then I’d doubt myself and say, “this could never happen…right?”

That’s the beauty of Atwood’s writing. She makes you question what is and what could be if we let our guard down and give up the seemingly small freedoms we have. This is a right-on-time book for me because of how much freedom we, Americans, give up just to feel “safe”. In this book, Offred felt safe for the majority of the book (in essence). She felt safe in the rigid confines of her life and knew what her purpose was…to bear children for whatever man was placed in front of her. You see Offred struggle with herself throughout the book. Struggle with how weak she feels and allows herself to feel. She takes great joy in the simplest of ideas, such as whispering to a friend, or even making a friend. Towards the end, you see the build up of her break down. You see the thought process shift from “why do I let this happen” and “I miss my old life” to “I’m sick of this life”. Her internal journey makes the reader feel like we are snooping in our bestfriend’s diary.

As with most Atwood books, you find yourself drawn to the world in the first half of the book. You establish the setting and the expectations. Then in the second half, you thoroughly dig into the psyche and emotions of the main character. For some, this may give the impression of a slow start and fast finish. Overall, I enjoyed the book and found the end (pretty much the last 100 pages) to be the most gratifying. I’d recommend it for people who enjoy slow to start, psychological post-apocalyptic style stories.

Raging Book Reviews Recommended

*purchased with my own money

I’m a Winner! (The Blood Line by Sam J.)

Tags

, ,

I’ve won a Goodreads giveaway for The Blood Line by Sam J! I’m excited to dive into this story in November. Here’s a little bit about the book in case you want to read it as well:

34808724

Synopsis:

Sheri is finally in control and calling the shots in her career, family, and love life. Everything has seemingly come full circle, but with much power and success, hate and envy can only be expected…Will Sheri’s shady ways help her to triumph over her rivals or lead to her ultimate demise?

On the surface, Anuhea has the ‘perfect’ life – she’s the bride-to-be of one of the most influential men of the century, a proud mother, and successful in her own right, but it’s nothing more than a deceptive image she has struggled to uphold for years. No one knows the hell she endures behind closed doors and a trip down the aisle is the only thing she thinks she has left to hold on to until a steamy affair enthralls her into an emotional whirlwind and a mysterious phone call changes the course of her life forever.

Always the odd sister out, Shaun’s decision to cut off contact with her family is seemingly the best decision she’s ever made until a heart-wrenching encounter leads her to investigate whether her worse nightmare has been her reality all along. Troubled by past emotional wounds and a damaged reputation, Shaun remains haunted by the knife in her back – all the while stabbing her enemies in the front.

Cass spent half of her adulthood being the glue that kept her family from falling apart, raising her daughter in a way that would lead her down a different path, and playing the role of the family counsel. But what happens when you’re blind-sided by a string of events that are beyond your control? At the peak of a climactic breaking point, Cass is faced with the most trying decision she’s ever had to make.

All Bebe and Dottie have left now are each other, polar opposites in every way imagined, one promiscuous and the other ambitious with everything to lose. The secrets they vow to take with them to the grave turn out to be only the calm before the storm…

Specs: Paperback, 420 pages, Published September 15th 2017 by Sam J. Inc.
Check out the author at: http://www.samjwrites.com

ARC: The Immortalists (For Review)

Tags

, , , , , , ,

So the review season is in full swing! I will be reading and reviewing this ARC next month for the publisher. So make sure to follow the blog and see what I think of this interesting story coming out in 2018!

30288282

Synopsis:

If you were told the date of your death, how would it shape your present?

It’s 1969 in New York City’s Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.

Their prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in ’80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11, hoping to control fate; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.

A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.

RELEASE DATE: JANUARY 9, 2018

Specs: 352 pgs, G.P. Putnam’s Sons

Check out the author at: https://www.chloebenjaminbooks.com/

 

 

 

 

 

Book Giveaway: Win a Signed Copy!

Tags

, , , , , , ,

Goodreads Book Giveaway

Girl Soldier by T.R. Horne

Girl Soldier

by T.R. Horne

Giveaway ends November 15, 2017.

See the giveaway details
at Goodreads.

Enter Giveaway

 

Girl Soldier AD

New Book Review: The Kind Worth Killing

Tags

, ,

21936809

Rated 5 of 5 stars

Peter Swanson writes an intriguing, fast paced psychological thriller that explores what it means to be a murderer. The logic of some of the main characters were thought provoking however insane they sounded. The story starts with a meeting between Ted and Lily at an airport. They talk over drinks then subsequently are on the same flight and continue their discussion. The topic of their discussion is what grips the reader. They are toying with the idea of killing Ted’s wife, a cheating woman that only wants him for his millions. Lily agrees to help him if he’s serious and through a series of meetings and discussions, Lily helps Ted build up the nerve to execute his wife until something changes. That change shifts the entire focus of the book and the reader goes on a wild ride of twists and turns. Throughout this book, you’ll be wondering who did what and how…and you’ll always wonder what’s going to happen next!

This book is exceptionally written and planned. I’m baffled as to why I didn’t hear anything about it sooner. I really enjoyed listening to this on a long road trip and recommend the narration and the story. The ending is VERY surprising! Great choice for readers that enjoy psychological thrillers with an unpredictable plot.

Raging Book Reviews Highly Recommended

*Purchased with my own money via Audible.

Want to purchase this highly recommended read? Buy a copy with free shipping  HERE

New Book Review: I Can’t Make This Up: Life Lessons

Tags

, ,

33347428

Rated 4 of 5 stars

Ok, so I’m not a HUGE Kevin Hart fan and definitely after the cheating debacle…I was on a Hart hiatus. So while on a road trip, we (the men in the car for the most part) wanted to listen to Hart’s new book. So I obliged begrudgingly. After about an hour into the book…I was hooked. Kevin Hart narrated the hell out of this book! He uses his easy going logic, fast talking humor as a way to pull you into the story of his family. The life lessons he learned from his father had us literally crying laughing in the car. His father is an extreme character but hearing it through Hart’s eyes, the eyes of a son, was refreshing, funny and heartfelt. He also explores his relationship with his mother growing up and then subsequently her painful death from cancer. This relationship really brought a tear to my eye. The tenderness and guidance his mother gave him stayed with him for life and through their interactions you can tell that she really believed in her son and wanted to ensure he was able to stand up as a man.

Kevin Hart also explores the relationship with his ex-wife Torrei. The relationship was abusive on many levels and for him to admit that to millions of people took courage that many men would have edited out to suit themselves and their image. He took responsibility and that shows he learned from it and will ensure it doesn’t happen again in his new marriage. Unfortunately, some of his old tricks die hard as he was caught cheating on his new wife which ironically was the fuel for the tumultuous first marriage. He still has yet to learn that trust is something hard to rebuild so I am hoping for the sake of his second marriage that he loses some of the immaturity in the fidelity department.

Overall, I found myself laughing out loud, laughing so hard my cheeks hurt and tears streamed down my face. I found myself feeling bad for how his cards were dealt so young but felt vindicated when I saw how much work and persistence he put into his craft. He deserves all the accolades and opportunities because his story is one of many failures that he pushed through and believed that he could do something with his life. The life lessons in the book are not unique but when paired with his story, makes great sense. I thoroughly enjoyed this audiobook and recommend it to people who like Hart’s brand of comedy and want to laugh a little.

Raging Book Reviews Recommended!

*Purchased with my own money on Audible.