Tags

, , , , , ,

30370309

Rated 3.8 of 5 stars

Choir Boy by McCraney was a really creative way to tell a story without actually telling a story. The book is a play that has been shown throughout America. Reading it definitely gives a different feel to the characters and makes the reader focus on the dialogue. By thinking deeply about what characters are feeling in the dialogue, it gives a dimension of oneness with the characters, a connection. I found that I hurt for Pharus’ plight into being accepted. I still didn’t completely understand what happened with David (why? what was the reason?). Maybe the play or the visual aspect would have helped. Unfortunately, with it being a book, if the dialogue isn’t completely expressive or even suggestive then we lose a bit of what we were looking for. I lost my way towards the end which is why I took a star away. I didn’t mind the overabundance of song lyrics in the book and felt it was a setting to the story. Overall, I enjoyed the Choir Boy. Recommended for readers who want a new experience with LGBTQ issues in an all-boy school setting.

*This book was given to me by the publisher at BookCon2016 for an honest review.

Raging Book Reviews Recommended

Purchase book HERE

