25104491

Rated 4 of 5 stars

What did you love best about The Prettiest One?
I really loved the premise of the character going into a fugue state when something in her life triggered an old memory. That alone was fascinating to try to wrap my mind around and the author did a great job of sticking to the underlying feelings of the character. The book has twists and turns that are unexpected but also has a good amount of humor which I wasn’t expecting. I laughed out loud on more than a few occasions.

What did you like best about this story?
The narrator did a great job with the characters. It was easy to discern not only their voices but their personalities. I think Bon Shaw did a great job channeling each character’s feelings in a particular scene. (With a name like Bon Shaw, he definitely gave us the theatrical edge his name implies)

Have you listened to any of Bon Shaw’s other performances before? How does this one compare?
I have not heard any of Bon Shaw’s other performances but I think I will look into it. He definitely has a great tone and pace for suspense novels.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?
I really enjoyed the second half of the book more than the first. When the character had to face her fears and her past, the story took a emotional turn. I was invested in the main character after that.

Any additional comments?
I enjoyed this audiobook! My husband and I listened while on a road trip and my son in the backseat even started asking questions. I think that’s a good sign that the story is great and the narrator brings it to life. Raging Book Reviews Recommended!

