25178892

Rated 3.5 of 5 stars

Pauls has a distinct voice and her storytelling always leaves the reader gasping! After reading her novel, Pyromancist, I can vouch that she is by far one of the few erotica writers that can make you sweat while reading. Even though I get some great ideas from her work **smiles deviously**, I had a few setbacks in this novel. The story follows Josselin, a leader of a paranormal task force (although he considers himself not to be paranormal even when he can taste blood and sense a person’s paranormality…I made that word up, yes) and then there’s Clelia, a hidden firestarter that seems to not fit into society but has a fond bond with her wolf-dogs. We learn that Clelia has powers that an age old foe, Lupien, needs in order to grow stronger. And this is where the storyline ends.

The majority of the book (up until about the 70% mark) is the back and forth yearning and sexual tension between the two main characters, Josselin and Clelia. They wait for her grandfather to find them yet they never go out looking for him, only spending the time secretly confessing their love and desire for one another yet not ever moving forward with it. Josselin is VERY possessive and it’s a bit overboard and comes across as abusive. I really couldn’t find myself liking him at all. He was too intense and I almost didn’t want him to find her when she finally got away from him. Clelia was likable but she seemed to not have much of a backbone until the very end. I expected more than cowering in a corner when she is running from various people and her door is broken in. I guess, I just couldn’t identify with her much. She seemed to want to find her grandfather but not really.

Also, the action did not happen in this book as I was expecting after reading Loving the Enemy by Pauls. That book was an awesome blend of action and erotica, angst and overcoming adversity. With this novel, the yearning played out for the majority of the book and Josselin’s actions of treating her like a child that couldn’t think, walk or make decisions. The constant picking her up instead of walking, feeding her as if she doesn’t know when she’s hungry, telling her to put on clothes (buying her clothes as well) or not to look at a guy was just too much for me to handle at times. I wanted Clelia to be less of the proclaimed fragile girl throughout the book. But in the end, she only showed one intensely angry moment and that was literally at 95%. So in the end, I think Pauls still held my attention enough to read the next novel. I hope that we get more action in the next one because she is skilled at bringing female heroines to life. I’d like to see more of that.

Raging Book Reviews

