Tags

, , ,

Rising Dark (The Darkling Trilogy, Book 2)Rising Dark by A.D. Koboah
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Raging Book Review Rating: 4.5

I really enjoyed Koboah’s second book in The Darkling Trilogy. The book was written in the perspective of Avery, a handsome, caring and smart vampire that has followed his love Luna for many years. The story is very touching in a sense that Avery is so caring and honorable yet he faces his own struggles with forgiveness and is many times blinded by his unfaltering love for Luna. I can’t say much about the book because there are many twists and turns throughout the novel that lead into the final blow but I will say that I was really interested in the fast paced action scenes that this book served up as well as the brute honesty of the scenes. I only wish there were more, more, more! The first 50% of the novel is a revisiting of the past through Avery’s eyes. I did not care much for such a large chunk of the novel to be “retold” in a sense but I did feel closer to Avery after having read his side of the story. There are new characters introduced into the novel and some I wish I knew more about (Mallory and Dallas) which may be a teaser for the last and final book. The author states at the end in her note that she is thinking of telling the story through Dallas’ eyes but I had a sick feeling when I read it. I didn’t like Dallas one bit in the novel and I wasn’t sure if I could stomach her for an entire novel! But, stranger things have happened in the book world and I may just end up liking/hating the character enough to feel like it was a great story. Needless to say I am stoked for the final book in this trilogy and recommend everyone catch up with these novels before the final book comes out (hopefully soon!). Raging Book Review Recommended!

View all my reviews

