Tags

, , , ,

Oracle of Philadelphia (Earthbound Angels, #1)Oracle of Philadelphia by Elizabeth Corrigan
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Raging Book Reviews Rating: 3.5

Corrigan does a fairly good job with her novel, Oracle of Philadelphia. There were some really cool and interesting aspects of the novel as well as some items I felt were missed opportunities. Let’s start with a very brief synopsis. Carrie (although she’s had many names throughout the millennia) is given immortality by Lucifer himself after he kills her entire family. Carrie looks at this as a curse and continues on in life with a demon friend, Bedlam. Carrie can read people’s minds so she is considered an Oracle by many throughout the years but has yet to save a soul from their destiny until she meets a man she deems as deserving. And off the story goes into the depths of hell (in a good way).

What I really liked about this novel is that it takes you to a place we all fear…Hell. Then we get to meet demons and angels throughout the journey. The part I didn’t like was the characterization. I didn’t feel any connection with the characters the entire book. I knew their past and history but lacked the feeling that goes along with the actions of the characters. Gabriel was one dimensional and in and out so fast I wondered why he was written in, in the first place. I couldn’t even feel bad at the end for Carrie and that was supposed to be a highlight (I think). Bedlam was forced comedic relief but had the most character of them all, I felt a little something with the whole Kezeil thing. But not too much. So overall, it was superbly edited and cover is ah-mazing…but it lacked characters that would make me drool until book two.
Overall, I enjoyed the story because of the setting, uniqueness and the writing flowed well.

View all my reviews

