Grumpy GroundhogGrumpy Groundhog by Maureen Wright
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Received as a Goodreads First Read*

I just finished reading this amazing story with my son. We had a nice discussion about the book as well and I was pleased that he really liked it! The illustrator did an awesome job with this book. The pages are full of color, feeling and expression. There are literally full page pictures, not partial pages. I liked the version of the art that the author chose because it gives it an ethereal vibe…almost sleepy and soft, which the story ties in perfectly with. As for the story of the grumpy groundhog who only wanted to sleep on groundhog day, it was written with style and rhyme. My son is 6 and read it very easily by himself. We alternated pages and the story made us smile when finally the town was able to coax the grumpy groundhog out of his home to have a little fun for the day! I really enjoyed reading this book with my son and it is a great book to talk about grumpy and happy with a child as well as friendship and responsibility. Thoroughly enjoyable for children 0-9 years of age.

View all my reviews

