Tags

, , ,

The Chocolate Thief (Amour et Chocolat #1)The Chocolate Thief by Laura Florand
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book made me hate chocolate instead of love it! It made me hate France, Paris in particular, instead of love it! How is that possible??? Florand found a way to write a story that degrades Americans throughout the entire book and that didn’t sit well with me. In every chapter it was explained how superior Paris is and how “dumb” and without honor Americans are. I had to check the back of the book to see if it was an American writer…and yes, she is American but married to a Frenchman and living in France. Can we say “sellout” quick enough?

Ok, so here’s the story on this book. Cade is a billionaire by way of a huge family-owned chocolate business (think Snicker bars, or something like that). She wants to convince a small chocolate-maker in Paris, Sylvain, to sell his chocolate under her company to gain a gourmet following. He refuses so she breaks into his shop to steal his secrets but comes up empty handed. She spends most of her time eating his chocolate and fumbling through his ingredients. She has a crush on him from a picture of his hand she saw (mmmhmmm, yep, a hand). Mind you, Sylvain does not call the police when his shop is broken into not one but three times! Instead, he tells a blogger and makes it a big story. He finds Cade as the thief because she keeps coming back to his shop at night to eat and he stays behind one night to catch her red handed. They make love. They try to be together (all the while questioning both of their motives and irritating each other, and me the reader, to know end along the way).

I could not finish this book quick enough. I sulked every time it was time to read again because I didn’t know how much more pompous, Parisian superiority I could take or how long I would last at skipping over the abundance of French in the book. The only character I happened to like was the grandfather because he was very assured of who he was and his family. Everyone else was a lost cause. Sylvain was lost and not very attractive with a pompous attitude and lack of modesty. Cade seemed like the whining billionaire kid that really had no problems (hmm, do I run a billionaire business or stay in Paris and live with my boyfriend?). I couldn’t relate to her wanting to ditch her family and life for a man she knew for one month that spoke down on her families business at every turn. It just didn’t make any sense. Thank goodness for the love scenes because they were a vacation from the book droning on and on in misunderstandings between the main characters. All in all, I’m glad this journey is OVER. Read at your own will.

– T.R. Horne, author of Breaking Mobius and Crazy Dirty Love, blogger on Raging Book Reviews at www.ragingbookreviews.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

