Tags

,

MindersMinders by Michele Jaffe
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

*received as a Goodreads First Read giveaway.

I’m still processing how I feel about this book. Let’s start with a brief synopsis. Sadie is a young high school girl chosen to be a part of an elite program that studies/evaluates the minds of people in poverty. Her subject is Ford Winter, a young, charismatic and deeply haunted boy by the death of his older brother. During her assessment of Ford, Sadie starts to unravel the story of Ford’s deepest thoughts, desires and fears. Soon enough, they are working towards finding his brothers murderer and uncover a story so complex that you’d need pen and paper to keep up with the who’s who and who did what.

I felt that Sadie was a bit unlikeable and stale. Even when she trying to be in love, it was not completely sold. I’m not sure why Cali and Pete were written in. Their roles seemed to give nothing to the actual depth of the characters. Decca had depth and revealed a lot about Sadie but she wasn’t used much. I’d have much rather Decca been in Pete’s position in the book because I would have gotten more than a boy whining about not having sex. Cali was also unnecessary to the story if not only to show that Ford had a sensitive, sweet side (which I thought was covered well by Lulu). Plus, I was like ‘huh’ when she offered to be friends with benefits, that just didn’t seem like her style and threw me out of the story a bit. Plus, with Ford, he made so many unjustified decisions. Trusting people he knew were out to get him time and time again. I was wondering constantly like how stupid could he be? You go with Willy then with Plum? Both with ties to you getting your butt kicked??? So yeah, I wasn’t completed thrilled with that.

Furthermore, I’d label this book as a TA-DA book. You read and read in the dark until the last twenty pages. Then the outcome is not as satisfying since its rushed, the explanation is at least. I had to re-read the ending three times to make sure I had all my questions answered. I didn’t like that feeling. So in all, I loved the concept but the execution leaves much to be desired even though well-written.

– T.R. Horne, author of Breaking Möbius and Crazy Dirty Love, blogger at www.ragingbookreviews.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

