Tags

, , , ,

VACCINATION: A Zombie Novel (Volume 1)VACCINATION: A Zombie Novel by Phillip Tomasso III
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I purchased this book because I thought the cover of the book was amazing and the author was pretty down to earth on Facebook. Little did I know, he is a fabulous writer as well! I was enthralled with his character, Chase, from the moment he started talking about his affinity for beer, smoking and his distate for working as a dispatcher. I thought it was cleverly written in a way that didn’t make you dislike Chase but helped you understand him. There were many times in the book that I wanted to hate Chase for being such a self-absorbed pig but in the end, I wondered how I would be with zombies chasing me down every couple minutes, car accidents boggling my brain and strangers that I couldn’t trust surrounding me. I guess I gave him a pass. I’d be pretty high strung too.

I held back tears. I laughed out loud. I cringed. I hugged my child after reading this book. I can’t wait to see where it leads with Evacuation (Tomasso’s sequel to this story). It seems so “classified” and mysterious. Overall, I think Tomasso has a unique blend of writing that hits all levels of emotions. You’re overjoyed when the characters finally catch a break but your pissed when the story brings loss of characters you’d come to depend on and love. Each character was written impeccably well, showing all their sides and the depths of who they are when faced with unthinkable odds.

I’m super excited about the future of this storyline and I can’t wait to crack open the next book (which I’ve already purchased).

– T.R. Horne, author of Breaking Mobius and Crazy Dirty Love, blogger at www.ragingbookreviews.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

