Tags

, , , , ,

Subfrenzy (Book 1)Subfrenzy by Kimberlee Jane
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d give this book a 3.5, if that was an option. I really enjoyed having a look at a whole new lifestyle and world that I wasn’t privy to prior to this novel. I was excited to get a glance through a window at a couple, Quinn and Clara, who find a way to be together when they are so similar in almost every way…except that ones a caring dom and the other a not-so-confident as she portrays submissive. I enjoyed the scenes at the bar and when they first met. They were very well written. I also enjoyed their stint in Rack and at the dinner and wished there were so many more! I think the author enjoyed writing about sex and thus, there is an over abundance of sex in this novel which unfortunately can seem predictable and drown out the characters lives. I wanted to like Clara more but I didn’t by the end. I had no attachment to her emotionally, no real backstory other than where she worked, so I fought hard to identify with her since I’ve never been a dom or sub and couldn’t connect on that level. Quinn was interesting. His caring nature was endearing and helped me like him more but he also lacked backstory as well other than his work. I enjoyed the book and wished there was less “thank you”, “sorry” and “sir” to distract me but even through those things I could see a capable writer in the story.

– T.R. Horne, author of Breaking Möbius and Crazy Dirty Love, blogger at www.ragingbookreviews.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

