Tags

, ,

The Weight of a Feather and other storiesThe Weight of a Feather and other stories by Judy Croome
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

*received this book as a Goodreads First Reads giveaway winner.

This collection of stories will not disappoint the avid reader, especially one that values scenery, imagery and heartfelt storytelling. I started this book and was drawn in by the South African scenes that made me feel like I was there, in the bush, trying to understand a culture and lifestyle that is very unlike my own. I tried to wrap my mind around the atrocities that happened in the name of culture and feel the pure, unbridled love brought only by the bonds of family. Croome did an exceptional job of pulling at my heart strings, wrenching me into tears then making me smile at the moral value of her stories. I fought back tears, I laughed, I smiled and I understood what culture means to many different people. This is a must read. My personal favorites are Umbrella in the Snow, The Leap, The Lottery, The Blue Mountains (my fave) and The Gold Miner. Breathtaking, heart wrenching, satisfying.

– T.R. Horne, author of Breaking Möbius and Crazy Dirty Love, blogger at www.ragingbookreviews.wordpress.com

View all my reviews

